The Rotary Club of Haenertsburg was Chartered on 16 February 2001 under the sponsorship of the Pietersburg 100 Club. There were 25 Charter members and over the years this number has fluctuated up and down, but now stands at 22 active and 1 Honorary Member. Three of the original Charter members – Maurice & Chrisna Stander and Deneys Barry are still serving Rotarians in Haenertsburg. Of the 22 active members,  16  are based in Haenertsburg and the other 6 comprise the  Haenertsburg Rotary Satellite Club who are based in Tzaneen. There are 12 women and 10 men in the Club. The current President is Deneys Barry whose year in office runs from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021.

The club members come from a wide range of professions, from lawyer to civil engineer, medical doctors to teacher to financial and insurance managers and some retired professionals. The club members normally meet once a week on a Wednesday at 18h00 for 18h30 in their own clubhouse – the Rotary Moth Hall situated behind the Village Hall on Rissik Street, which is the main business street in this quaint little village. During the Covid-19 lockdown, meetings are held virtually at the same time each week. In normal times, there is Fellowship after the meeting when members socialise and enjoy a meal together. The Moth Hall is one of the oldest buildings in Haenertsburg, having originally been the Magistrate’s Court and later used by the MOTHS organisation in the area. 

The team that off-loaded the delivery of 110 boxes of Wheelchairs, led by Rotarian convener, Keith Patrick, back left.

Don't miss out!

Join our VIRTUAL

Iron Crown Trail Run

11 July 2020

Ann Luther on

WEEKLY WEDNESDAY CLUB MEETINGS ARE CONDUCTED ON ZOOM AT 18H30. Visitors who wish to join are welcome. Please contact the Club Secretary, Chrisna Stander, on email:


Linking People


Our club applied for and was given a District Grant of $1000.  Together with another 3 clubs in our Region (Region 6 - Limpopo) this grant was combined with their contributions and used to buy wheelchairs through the Wheelchair Foundation in the UK.An order of 110 wheelchairs arrived from the Wheelchair Foundation in October 2019.


For more detailed information on the pandemic please go to SA government’s Covid-19 portal

Watch Video

Haenertsburg Covid-19 Relief Initiative update


Ebenezer Mile Open Water Swim

21 March 2020


A new date later in the year to be advised. Watch this space.